Version françaisefleche_langueEnglish versionPrintable Version
  • Home
  • Planning
  • Reservation
  • Locations
  • Partners

Musée d'Orsay.


The art of the accompaniment

How is it possible to accompany a soloist, to anticipate and follow the movements of the soloist when the accompanist is a computer?

This challenge was decisive in the concept of chamber music with electronics; it passes by a polyphonic "score following" (Vassos Nicolaou), or by a location where the interaction between the autonomous world of electronics and the devilish character of the violin (Marco Stroppa) become poetry. In the copious writing of Dai Fujikura, an orchestra made up of virtual string instruments is born from a single, real viola. This temptation to multiply is the driving force behind the solitary line of Georges Aperghis' oeuvre that draws a "escape path among the tensions from the magnetic fields, the harmonic pressures". The piece Naturale closes the final concert of the Berio series, to "accompany" is not a question of technology, but of the complex aesthetic connection between two worlds. The popular songs from Sicily, recorded by Luciano Berio are attached to an 'intermittent' tape.

"My dream, I know it is utopist, would be to unify traditional folk music and our music - to establish a real passage, perceptible and understandable, between these old popular music, so close to the daily toil of people and our music."


  • Vassos Nicolaou Otemo*, commissioned by IRCAM-CentrePompidou, premiere
  • Georges Aperghis The only line**, French premiere
  • Dai Fujikura prism spectra***, commissioned by IRCAM-Centre Pompidou, premiere
  • Screening of the Film Images of a Work #7 about the creation by Marco Stroppa
  • Marco Stroppa hist    whist****, French premiere, commissioned by the Printemps des Arts de Monte-Carlo
  • Luciano Berio Naturale


Daniel Ciampolini, vibraphone, percussion
Hae-Sun Kang, violin
Odile Auboin, viola
IRCAM Computer Music Design Serge Lemouton*, Sébastien Roux**, Manuel Poletti***, Arshia Cont****

An IRCAM-Centre Pompidou, musée d'Orsay collaboration. An IRCAM-Centre Pompidou coproduction.
Concert recorded by France Musique.

Images of a Work #7

The film "Images of a Work #7" on the creation by Marco Stroppa will be shown before and after the concert and during the intermission.
What is the connection between a poem written by a young e.e. Cummings, the Antescofo score-following software, and a column of loudspeakers in the middle of a stage a few meters from the violinist Hae-Sun Kang? The new film in the Images of a Work series will try to answer using scenes from rehearsals of the new composition by the Italian composer, hist    whist (2009), as well as interviews with those who took part in the creation of this work in the IRCAM studios.
A documentary written and produced by Nicolas Donin and Benoît Martin.

Wednesday, June 17, 2009, 8pm / Musée d'Orsay, Auditorium

  • Prices full price 21€ reduced price 15€ Agora pass 10€
  • Website Musée d'Orsay